Books (college and beyond)

At college it was back to the fantasy world again and much more serious leisure time reading (because I was studying English Literature I read so many classics the books mentioned here are just the ones which I chose to read for pleasure). First of all Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings which I read in one, india paper, volume so it didn’t seem quite so big to get through!

Having achieved that I then found that I was hooked on large volume series so this was followed by the 19 books of Frank Herbert’s Dune series

In between times one book which I loved so much that I read it in a day was Christopher Isherwood’s Goodbye to Berlin, his semi autobiographical account of his time in 1930s Berlin which describes pre-Nazi Germany and the people he met.

The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever by Stephen Donaldson was my next significant effort, and I managed to work my way through the first two Chronicles (Still have to read the third as it wasn’t written or published at the time)

Then it was on to the 4 huge volumes of Tad Williams’,  Otherland science fiction (cyberpunk) tetra logy.

After all that I needed a rest 😉

Leave a Reply

