Books (growing up)

As I got a bit older again, (about 8 or 9) I really started to read a lot and the favourites which I can remember were Stig of the Dump by Clive King and all of the Narnia series of books, by C S Lewis (which I read many, many times over).

At about the same time I was introduced to my first ‘serious’ book, the Silver Sword by Ian Serraillier.  A moving account of the journey of a group of children through war-torn Europe.   (I should probably read this again since my father-in-law made a similar journey to England during the war.)

The Secret Garden, the Lost Prince and a Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett and Thursday by Catherine Storr were good teenage novels, then I got taken over by English Literature at school through taking both ‘O’ and ‘A’ levels where I read even more, but not usually my choice of either book or author.

I’m so glad that school didn’t put me off reading for life as I hated Jane Austin and Dickens which was on the syllabus (just not my thing) but luckily I did take to T S Elliot and Shakespeare and some of the other poets, playwrights and authors we looked at.  I read so much more than this during my teenage years but these are the books which stand out in my memory, possibly because they deal with relationships (quite an important theme for a young girl 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

