Books (the early years)

From as far back as I can remember I was brought up around books with good stories and beautiful images, not least of which was the complete set of Beatrix Potter books which my Mum and Dad bought and read to me, including some of my favourites :

Then there were the Flower Fairies books by Cicely Mary Barker


I can also remember having a wonderful copy of Charles Kingsley’s Water Babies with illustrated plates by Mabel Lucie Attwell (I don’t know what happened to this book, it may even have been from the library, so I will have to ask my Mum).

Obviously there is the popular, seasonal, childhood favourite, the Night Before Christmas by Clement C Moore, which was read to me each Christmas Eve and I continued the tradition reading it to my boys while they were young and still willing to admit that they’d be listening out for the sleigh bells (I still have the book from my childhood).

As I got older and started to read for myself I have fond memories of quite a few books, the Milly Molly Mandy series by Joyce Lankester Brisley; the Borrowers series by Mary Norton; the Five Dolls in a House series by Helen Clare and the Little Leftover Witch by Frances Laughlin.

I expect that up to this point my Mum had mostly chosen books with/for me.  However, I still like things in the same ‘vein” (only becoming a bit more adult) as you will see.


Leave a Reply

